On Your Health

Check back to the INTEGRIS On Your Health blog for the latest health and wellness news for all Oklahomans.

Stages of Life: Health for Every Age

09 October 2015

What does it mean to “live healthy”? Depends on your age. From infancy all the way to senior adulthood, the components that contribute to a healthy life – things like nutrition, fitness, mental health and prevention – will look different. For example, just as it is important for an older adult to get 20 minutes of moderate activity a day, it is key for infants to have daily “tummy time.” This blog series will be a guide to essential healthy living choices you can make for you and your family during each “Stage of Life,” with input from INTEGRIS physicians. We know most readers live in the area, so we plan to include Oklahoma-specific healthy living ideas whenever we can, for each “Stage of Life,” with guides to local areas for wellness and nutrition.

What are the Stages of Life?

For the sake of this blog, we have defined the “Stages of Life” as:
  • Infant = 0-1 year
  • Toddler = 2-4 yrs
  • Child = 5-12 yrs
  • Teen = 13-19 yrs
  • Adult = 20-39 yrs
  • Middle Age Adult = 40-59 yrs
  • Senior Adult = 60+
You can follow along with this blog series on the infographic below. As a new “Stage of Life” element is added, the infographic will add a new section. You can click on the elements in each section to lead you to blogs with more information. For example, if you want to learn more about “Prevention,” click any orange element in the associated age group.